All India Inter DPS Badminton & Table Tennis Championship-2009

Sports build a competitive spirit in children and teaches them discipline and humility’.




Also see the photo gallery-         Badminton and Table Tennis Tournament -1
Badminton and Table Tennis Tournament -2
                                               Badminton and Table Tennis Tournament -3

Delhi Public School, Greater Noida proudly hosted the National Level Inter DPS Badminton and Table Tennis Championship 2009 from 24th to 26th July 2009. Three hundred students alongwith their coaches from seventy one schools from all over India participated in this mega event. Sixteen match officials from State Federation of Badminton and State Federation of Table Tennis supervised the tournament. The Championship began with an invigorating Opening Ceremony at 9.30 a.m. on 24th July 2009.

Mr. Surinder Singh Nagar, Member of Parliament, graced the occasion as the Chief Guest and Mr. Ashok Chandra, Chairman, DPSS & DPS GN was the Guest of Honour.

The Ceremony was also attended by the dignitaries like Mr. Rajesh Kumar Singh, CO Kasna; Mrs. Renu Chaturvedi , Addl. Secretary, DPSS; Mr. M. M. S. Nanda, Director, Engineering Cell, DPSS; Mr. Sanjay Kohli, Parent Representative, M.C. DPSGN and    Mr. Ravinder Bhati, Member, BSP.

The Programme began with the lighting of the lamp. Mrs. Kamini Bhasin, the Principal, fondly welcomed all the guests, participants and coaches.

The Chief Guest, Mr. Surinder Singh Nagar released the brochure and showered his blessings on all the participants. The cultural programme included the lovely song-‘Lab Pe Aati Hai Dua’ written by Allama Iqbal. The school choir also presented a peppy song ‘Badhte Chalo’ that filled everyone with enthusiasm. ‘Mastam-Mastam’- the awesome foot tapping dance number was highly applauded by one and all.

The Guest of Honour, Mr. Ashok Chandra administered the oath to the players who promised to play with spirit of true sportsman.

During these three days, the school was full of frenzied activities. The junior school was converted into a hostel for the outstation participants. They were served delectable palatable cuisines. The medical room was fully geared up to meet any eventuality with a doctor on duty round the clock. The participants and coaches appreciated the facilities provided to them and complemented the school for the same.

The three days of exciting action culminated in the valedictory function held in the school Auditorium on 26th July 2009 at 5.00 p.m. to felicitate the champions.

A galaxy of distinguished guests graced the occasion including Mr. Ashok Chandra, Chairman DPSS & DPSGN; Prof. B. P. Khandelwal, Vice Chairman, DPSGN;            Ms. Indu Puri, the ace tennis player; Dr. Pushkar Vohra, AEO Sports, CBSE;                    Mr. Himanshu Chaturvedi, CMD, HTC group; Mr. Samip Rajguru, Senior Sports Journalist, Aaj Tak; Mrs. Renu Chaturvedi, Addl. Secretary, DPSS; and Mr. Joshi, Sports Officer.

Ms. Indu Puri electrified everyone by her presence. She touched a chord in every heart when she inspired the youth to do their country proud.

‘Mastam-Mastam’ was back on stage by popular demand and still left everyone shouting for an encore. The inspiring song ‘Badhte Chalo’, hilarious sher-o-shairy by Nawab Shahabuddin Zeeshan Ahmed from Lucknow and a patriotic dance number by the brightly dressed children of our Shiksha Kendra–Cheshta were some of the other attractions.

There was a palpable excitement in the hall when the names of the winners were announced. In Badminton Singles, Manav Poddar of DPS Ranchi, P. Ravi Kiran of DPS Vishakhapatnam & Sahil Sipani of DPS South Bangalore were declared the Winner,      1st Runner Up & 2nd Runner Up whereas in Badminton Doubles –P. Ravi Kumar &         T. Saket of DPS Vishakhapatnam; Sahil Sipani & Pranav of DPS South Bangalore and Nishant & Indraneel of DPS Panipat Refinery were the winners, 1st Runners Up and 2nd Runners Up respectively.

In Table Tennis Singles – Harshit of DPS R. K. Puram, Kshitij Bisht of DPS Eldeco Lucknow & Tushar Singh of DPS Mathura Road were declared winner, 1st Runner Up & 2nd Runner Up.

In Table Tennis Doubles – Kshitij Bisht & Sagar Bisht of DPS Eldeco Lucknow, Harshit & Manav of DPS R. K. Puram, Kumar Abhisjhek & Subhenddi of DPS Damanjodi were the winners, 1st Runners Up & 2nd Runners Up respectively.

School mementos were presented to all the participating teams.

Mr. Ashok Chandra congratulated all the participants and inspired everyone to have a higher aim. He also declared the meet closed.